Copyright ©

image
Copyright ©
…All feed back welcome.

I will start by saying that this issue is not unique to me & it happens all the time. I was talking to a very dear friend the other day & she told me that it had happened to her. Long story, short… She created an item of which she shared a picture with someone else, that person then created an exact replica & then posted a picture of it on her social media site. What’s wrong with that? I hear you ask. Well there is a certain creative etiquette that this person failed to follow. They failed to mention my dear friends name as the source of the inspiration behind their creative product. It’s the equivalent to writing an author’s name after you quote their text.

It is a common problem now in this social media age. Pinterest, Instagram & Google are only a finger tap away. As an artist you need to be vigilant in putting a water mark on your shared image & to sign or stamp your work.

But what happens when someone has known you personally and quite intimately on a creative level, & your own creative beliefs & thoughts that you have shared start to appear on their social media site? Even your personal beliefs? Should there be a mention?

I know this is getting into a such a murky grey area, & I’m sure that I might be treading on shaky ground with this topic but in the last few weeks it has kept popping up & has reached a point where it can no longer be passed off as coincidence.

What would you do???

Mel xx

2 thoughts on “Copyright ©

  1. This is a really difficult topic, especially since so many people have recently been inspired to create their own art (myself included)! It’s one thing if people are inspired by your art, quite another if they try to claim it’s their own. If it was me, I’d write an email requesting that the “friend” include my name and a reference to my blog, shop or other site as the source of her inspiration. Some people have an innate understanding of etiquette and others need to be instructed.

  2. Hey Mel, it hasn’t gone unnoticed, and I wouldn’t worry they say imitation is the greatest form of flattery.
    If the person in question doesn’t have the passion and talent it will soon fizzle out. Just stay true to yourself darling.
    I saw a gorgeous dream catcher on the weekend that made me think of you, it wS made from vines and wool, very miss Bowerbird.
    Xxxxx

Leave a Reply

