Gratitude

IMG_4737I started writing this post on my birthday, which was a couple of weeks ago now. At the time I was feeling really grateful in general. But the spark for this piece of written creativity was the overwhelming feeling of gratitude that I felt for something so simple. It was for the lovely start to my day. My husband suggested breakfast in bed followed by a lie in. Which roughly translated to keeping our three cherubs out of my hair for a while.

I have had many breakfasts in bed, but what made this one so special was the immense feeling of gratitude that I felt. A month or so ago I decided to start a gratitude journal. I am a big believer in what you put out there you get back. I knew what I was grateful for, & the things were many. But to actively write them or speak them and be thankful for them is just so powerful.

There were so many great things happening. I was in my first magazine, we finally officially owned our first home, sales at the markets had increased exponentially, I was chosen by a very clever lady to stock her gorgeous candles, & my hubby was accepted in a business course, slash mentoring program to help him set up his business. There were many more, but I believe that because I told the universe & any one else who would listen, the feelings of gratitude I now feel are far more greater.

Today as I sit here to finnish this post reading what I have already written, I realise just how right I was a couple of weeks ago. I am now almost feeling overwhelmed by the wonderful things that keep coming my way.

So much more has happened, My little van & I were part of a media launch for an exciting new market. (The market attracted 6000 people, which was three times more than they had initially hoped for.) My van & I were featured in a blog, invited to a couple more fantastic markets, (one of which is going to see Miss Bowerbird in Sydney for the first time,) & my dream of Miss Bowerbird being a creators co-op is coming together in leaps & bounds. I am also so pleased to be able to say that life in general is really good.

For me, the most wonderful thing about it all is that, it’s just still the day-to-day things. We haven’t won the lottery, gone on an expensive holiday, (or any holiday for that matter. We always joke that we live in a holiday destination so why would we go anywhere.) My point is that it’s the little things that can be sustained. Money runs out, you eventually return home, but……

there can always be breakfast in bed.

Mel xx

One thought on “Gratitude

  1. Very true Mel, being grateful for all the blessings you receive is a better way to live than constantly wanting more, complaining about what you don’t have.
    You are an inspiration and I wish you all the best , keep up the good work xxxx

Leave a Reply

